Venue: Brian Gerrard Theatre, Birkenhead College 140 Birkdale Rd. Birkenhead


Class 36aString Solo Romantic or Modern Own Selection11 and younger

Class sponsor    Music Ways Musical Instruments
“Romantic or Modern” is taken to mean works by Composers from Schubert onwards. Winner is to receive $25, Second $15, Third $10

1Kate XuVariations on a Rococo Theme, op. 33Tchaikovsky

2Lisa ShiPlayera: No. 1 from Spanish Dances, Op. 23Sarasate

3Doris LouLegendeAugust Nolck

4Emily LuConcerto in C, op 48, 1st movtD. Kabalevsky

5Adam HuangThe SwanCamille Saint-Saëns

6Boyi YujinPolish Dance Allegro con spiritoEdmund Severn

7Sonya LiangSonata in G minor, Op 19, 3rd mvtRachmaninoff

8Xuanhao ZhangChanson villageoiseArnold Trowell

9Rebecca ZhouSchindler's ListJohn Williams

10Jessica Zhang SongMillionaire’s HoedownHerman Clebanoff

11Grace ChaiCHANSON TRISTETchaikovsky

12Ashley LingLa CampanellaPaganini

13Jonathan HeConcerto No.4 1st movementFriedrich Seitz

14Claire NicholsElegie Op.24Faure

15Angel TaoPraeludium & AllgroFritz Kreisler

16Olivia HeConcerto in B minor 3rd movementOskar Rieding

17Sarina ZhuCantabilePaganini

18Rachel ZhouAdorationFelix Borowski

19Ryan ZhangCanzonetta from Violin Concerto.Tchaikovsky

20Yolanda Zhangconcerto no.1 in A MinorJ.B.Accolay

21Hannah HuangThe SwanCamille Saint-Saëns

22Zachary GuoBizarrerie

23Serena LuConcertino in D major, op 25O. Rieding

24Daniel DingThe Happy Farmer – Schumann Op. 68 No. 10Robert Schumann

25Kelly WongCzardasV. Monti

26Yi YangMéditation from ThaïsMassenet


Class 35aString Solo Classical Own Selection11 and younger

Class sponsor   
“Classical” is taken to mean composers before Schubert. Winner to receive the Junior Cup and $25 Second $15 Third $10

1Bowen YuBach Suite 3, GigueJ.S. Bach

2Sarina ZhuGigueJ.S. Bach

3Adam HuangCello Concerto in C Major 1st mvtHaydn

4Yolanda ZhangAllegro from Fantasie no.7Telemann

5Emily LuAllegro di molto, First movement from Sonata in AMozart

6Boyi YujinNo.9 Fantasie 1st Movement SicilianaTelemann

7Hannah HuangCello Concerto No.1 in C Major 1st mvtHaydn

8Ashley LingRondeaux (2nd movt from Sonata in G0J.C.F. Bach

9Jessica Zhang SongViolin Concerto in GTelemann

10Grace ChaiTAMBOURINGossec

11Lisa Shi3rd movt from Sonata in D, Op. 12 No. 1Beethoven

12Oria Xiyi WeiAllegro: third movement from Sonata in B minorJean-Marie Leclair

13Rachel ZhouConcerto No. 2 in G Major,1st movementHaydn

14Ryan ZhangAllegro (Sonata in E minor,Op 2 No.8)F.M.Veracini

15Rebecca ZhouAllegroVivaldi

16Claire NicholsSonata No.6 in B flat Major RV46 2nd Movt AllegroVivaldi

17Kate XuConcerto in D Major Hob. VIIb: 2Haydn

18Angel TaoSonata No.1 in G minor,BWV 1001-4.prestoJ.S. Bach

19Yi YangAllegro non molto from SummerVivaldi

Results: Published 11-May-2023 09:56 (details)

First placeEmily Lu
Second placeAshley Ling
Third placeAngel Tao

Class 35bString Solo12 to 14 years

Class sponsor    Mr & Mrs I Knight
Winner to receive the Intermediate cup and $35 Second $20 Third $15

1Danica LanchtchikovaRondoBeethoven

Results: Published 11-May-2023 09:55 (details)

First placeDanica Lanchtchikova

Class 35cString Solo15 to 17 years

Class sponsor    Trinity College London. N.Z. Branch
Winner to receive the Senior Cup and $50 Second $30 Third $20

1Selena HuFisherman's Harvest SongLi Zili

2Tianai (Amy) ChenSonata for violin solo - first movementProkofiev

Results: Published 11-May-2023 09:56 (details)

First placeTianai (Amy) Chen
Second placeSelena Hu

Class 34Young Performer Of The Year Award15 to 20 years

Class sponsor    Lewis Eady
2023 CRITERIA FOR ACOUSTIC INSTRUMENTS A.Competitorsshall be 15 and under 21 years of age as at 1st October 2023. B.This award is open to competitorson any (non-electric) acoustic instrument. Not including Piano, whichis another genre at the NYPA. C.The programme should consist of three contrasting pieces from different periods of musical history. i.e. Baroque, Classical, Romantic, 20th Century or Contemporary. D.Each competitor shall perform a programme of 15-20 minutes duration. There will be a percentage mark for the complete programme. A penalty of 5marks will be imposed if the time limit is preceded or exceeded by 30 seconds or more. E.There will be a semi-final of up to six competitors who will repeat their full programme, as set out in B. and C. Competitors will be chosen based on their marks in the Preliminary round. F.For the Final Awards Concert three competitors will be recalledand will perform one piece, which the adjudicator will choose,from their original programme. SOCIETY NOMINATION Each Society, which is a financial member of PACANZ, may nominate up to two competitors, which shall be selected by the adjudicator, based on a performance as outlined in A-D (above). The adjudicator will determine that a competitor has displayed a sufficient standard of performance to competently represent that society at the National Finals. The standard required will be at the absolute discretion of the adjudicator but will include; • A demonstration of adequate preparation • An authority of performance • A performance with a level of maturity commensurate with a national final competition of this age group. If the adjudicator considers that sufficient standard has NOT been reached by any competitor, then NO nomination will be made. The Nominating Society is responsible for paying part of the entry fee to the National Young Performer Awards, which is $75.00 incl gst. The Nominee is responsible for paying their portion of the entry fee to the National Young Performer Awards, which is $175.00 incl gst. DIRECT ENTRY NOMINATION If the adjudicator considers that more than two competitors have reached a sufficient standard, the adjudicator may report to the committee that those competitors should be given the option of a DIRECT ENTRY NOMINATION. The DIRECT ENTRY competitor will be responsible for paying the full entry fee, which is $250.00 incl gst.

1Wonjae Lee
Suite I - PreludeJ.S. Bach
Viola Sonata in d minor 1st MvtGlinka
PassacagliaRebecca Clarke

2Tianai (Amy) Chen
Violin concerto in G Major - first movementHaydn
Sonata for violin solo - first movementProkofiev